Cotton, for example

How’s about I take a shot at cotton?

Okay, maybe not the plant itself but the industries that
cotton supports. Namely, fertilizers and insecticides.

Now, don’t think for a minute I’m going to try to tell you
hemp can replace cotton. For me to make a statement
like that would be down right ludicrous.

The infrastructure to process hemp isn’t currently in place.
Facilities would need to be built or modified to process
hemp fiber. After all, hemp hasn’t been grown in the States
since the ’40s. Yes, there was that little Marijuana Tax
Act thing in ‘34, but Uncle Sam loosened the leash during
WW II. Most of our hemp had been coming from the
Philippines.

So what if I came up with a wild number like, oh, 25%?
Yeah, I’m guessing that would be safe. Let’s say if all
the required industry was in place, hemp could replace
25% of the cotton currently being grown. Okay? Okay.

From what I understand, farmers don’t much care what
they grow. So long as they can make a profit from the
harvest. We’ll say they can do that with hemp. Okay? Okay.

So, if a mill can be modified for a few million dollars to
process hemp fiber; farmers would grow it and everyone
would make a buck. Why the hell aren’t we doing that?

I’ve been doing a lot of presuming here you say. True
that. Still, I think I’m on fairly safe ground. So far.

Cotton covers about 2.5% of the worlds agricultural fields.
Cotton uses about 16% of the pesticides used world wide.
(1)

Cotton is a huge money maker for the manufactures of
pesticides, insecticides, etc.

It takes about 5.3 oz. of fertilizer to grow one pound of
cotton.
(2)

I’d say the fertilizer manufactures are making a tidy sum
from cotton too. If they aren’t then they are definitely
doing something wrong (double entendre? Pun?).

Hemp is not totally impervious to pests. It hasn’t near the
problems with them as cotton does though. Hemp will
grow fine with simple organic fertilizers. Ask any indoor
medicinal grower. (I’m not jumping categories. I’m merely
making my point)

No one on the board of one of these companies is willing
to tell their stock holders that, tomorrow, they will lose
25% of their gross revenue. No. What they will do is
everything within their power to prevent that. That’s
business, eh?

In my opinion that’s one answer to my question,
“Why then?” Hemp would be bad, bad, bad for business.
And we are talking very large corporations.

I’d mention the timber industry at this point if I didn’t
have other matters to presently attend to.

(1)The Deadly Chemicals in Cotton. Environmental Justice
Foundation.
(2) Danish Environmental Agency, working report #24.

Leave a Reply

