New Jersey

New Jersey is doing things a bit differently than the other 13 medical marijuana states. Part of their program I don’t care for but I do find interesting. Oh, I’m enthused that another state has jumped into the deep end of the pool. Don’t get me wrong!

What I don’t care for is that NJ doesn’t allow patients to grow their own. And that’s also where my interest comes in. I’ll begin with my opinion on the former and then proceed to the latter.

In the next few days I’ll tell you a story about a 9 year old child that had been given cannabis to treat autism. (These past few I’ve been a bit under the wheather.) The results were remarkable. That is, up until the caregiver ran into a snag and substituted the strain of cannabis, that had given the positive results, with another. The child’s mood and behavior deteriorated. I suppose it was by happenstance that the original strain had been administered to begin with.

In the medicanal cannabis world the strain or cross breed can be very important in obtaining succesful results for the malady being treated. I’ve observed that as a marketing stratagy of the Califorionia medicinal cannabis shops. Some have over 50 strains and or breeds of cannabis available.

In my experience with qualifying patients, here in Washington State, I’ve noted that they’ll grow several different strains until they discover what works best and then concentrate on propogating those plants. Even further, some engage in their own breeding programs creating strains that heretofore haven’t existed. All in an effort to find (or make) that perfect “medicine.”

Not in Joisey. The doc will give you a card and then you’ll go to the state sanctioned shop and pick up your meds. 2 ounces a month max. Now I might be carrying on when there’s nothing to carry on about. I suppose the licensed facilities could stock 75 different strains. I have a feeling that’s not going to be the way of it though. Not at the get-go. I think there’s going to be a bit of a learning curve.

Now the latter; New Jersey has, basically, jumped into the cannabis business.

From start to finish- the growing of the plants to when the material passes over the counter- the state is in charge. I compare that to the liquor stores here in Washington. There are stores that are contracted but the whole process, including pricing, shipping warehousing, etc. falls under the control of the liquor board. The State of Washington is in the liquor business. New Jersey is in the medicinal cannabis business. Or they will be shortly.

The plants aren’t ready yet. The licensed distribution centers haven’t yet begun to sell the crop(s) to patients. To begin, the “alternative treatment centers” will be limited to six, spread across the state.

This is going to be an interesting experiment. Stay tuned.

2 Comments

  1. Dean W said,

    April 21, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Well that’s an interesting can of worms; should DEA show up, they’re going to be dealing with state employees doing what they’re paid to do.

  2. capndrift said,

    April 21, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Or, at the least, a state contracted employee.

    T’is my point I reckon (on that portion of my entry). Though on the face of it it looks like the most
    conservative of the states’ medicinal cannabis laws,
    things are not always as they seem.

    What Uncle does once the Alternative Treatment Centers
    open is going to speak volumes.

    I can hardly wait!


Leave a Reply

