Say You Want to Grow Hemp

Well, to get your DEA approval and ultimately your tax stamp there are a few security requirements you’ll need to meet. Before I tell you what some of those are allow me to set up the question “Why?” before I tell you “What.”

I’ve never seen a live hemp plant. Oh, I’ve seen photos, and in that old USDA film Hemp for Victory you can see fields and fields in various stages. I have seen a few psychoactive cannabis plants in the flesh though. I don’t think I would ever confuse one with the other.

Hemp is planted close together and grows tall and thin with very little branching. Branching is not encouraged. Psychoactive cannabis is encouraged to branch and the plants are spaced to allow for the room. Hemp is like corn stalks and cannabis is like little Christmas trees. Sorta. Kind’a. The only real resemblance between the two being the fingered, serrated leaves.

No one in their right mind would attempt to hide cannabis in a hemp field. The resulting cross-pollination would prove disastrous for both.

Though industrial hemp does contain a smidgen of THC it’s no where near enough to provide a psychoactive effect. You couldn’t smoke or eat enough of it to catch a buzz.

With all of that said, here are a few of the security requirements the DEA is asking for.

The entire crop has to be fenced. Razor wire at the top would be a nice touch. A 24 hour monitoring system must be installed. Access has to be controled. 24 hour armed guards are a possible requirement. And, of course, there’s the FBI background check and a ton of paperwork.

Why?

2 Comments

  1. Michael said,

    April 27, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    I saw your post today on the Columbian website. I have read through some of your blogs and I want you to know you are doing a wonderful job. Keep it up! I will read all of them within the next couple of days and keep up and try and get your blog out to as many people as I can.

    I started researching and paying attention to the benefits of cannabis and industrial hemp about ten years ago. I don’t use cannabis, I don’t like the affects, but I am 100% for it’s legalization. The fact that our government will not legalize industrial hemp is one of the best examples of the American people being duped, in the history of this country.

  2. capndrift said,

    April 28, 2010 at 6:35 am

    Thanks for the kind words, Michael.
    Feel free to pull up a chair and have a look around.

    Today’s hemp prohibition is a result of corporate interests
    in the early 1900s. I feel the tide’s a’ changing. Through
    education, real education not propaganda, people are
    beginning to realize how versatile hemp is.

    The “green movement” will assist in bringing hemp back as
    an agricultural commodity too I think. And I don’t mean
    “green” as in the color of the plant. Heh. Folks are looking
    for cleaner processes and products.

    It doesn’t take near the nasty chemicals to turn a
    hemp plant into a tee shirt as other products take.
    The same with paper manufacturing. Hempseed oil
    makes a fine bio-fuel. No other seed is as nutritious
    as food.

    The corporate hurdle is still the big issue. The companies that would be hurt by hemp production have deep pockets. My hope is that the will of the people can overcome the votes in the boardrooms.

    And, I hope I’m not just another silly optimist.


Leave a Reply

