Just a Quick Note

For the last few days I’ve been studying endocannabinoids, cannabinoids and their roles at the receptors. A good portion of the research is beyond my education. Therefore, I have to struggle along teaching myself the terminology and nomenclature. Repeatedly. It’s a slow and painful process.

Presynaptic Cannabinoid Sensitivity Is a Major Determinant of Depolarization-Induced Retrograde Suppression at Hippocampal Synapses

That’s the title of the paper I’m currently reviewing. depolarization, basically, is a change in the electrical value of a cell. This is what creates the “flow” across the synapse. Calcium plays a main role. The interesting thing about this is it’s not a one way deal, whereas the majority of these reactions are.

No, I haven’t lost my marbles. I want to be able to speak intelligently about the subject of cannabinoids. Both kinds. I have to in order to explain to someone the modality of the reaction THC has with patients with diseases affecting the central nervous system. The only way that’s possible is to learn the chemistry\biology.

The saving grace is there are no tests nor grades. The only way I can fail is by looking foolish. My goal is to come out on the other side of the curve. Waaay on the other side.

Something interesting that keeps popping up is that some of these reactions vary with synthetic and natural cannabinoids. And further, with one cannabinoid rather than a host of them. The smart folks are still trying to figure out how the various terpenes in cannabis, acting in concert, affect the end result.

Actually, it’s very interesting. Once I understand what the hell they are saying, that is.

Leave a Reply

