In the “WTH?!” Category

Taken from an AP article.

“The U.S. State Department has no effective way to measure the success of its billion-dollar program to help Mexico and Central America fight drug traffickers, a congressional report concludes.”

Uh, pardon me? How’s about we start with the body count? How’s about we take a look at Forbes’ list of  billionaires? How’s about we take a look at the current availability of illegal drugs. How’s about… Oh, sheesh! (slapping myself in the forehead) You’ve got to be joking?! There’s no friggin’ success to measure you dolts!

An initiative was passed in 2008 to kick down 1.6 billion (that’s with a “b”) to the southern countries for the purchase of armored cars, helicopters and other such toys. The good news is we’ve (the U.S. ‘we’) only sent 9% of the promised money.  The hold out has forced Mexico to, at least once, buy some equipment with its own money. (more head slapping)

Hey, I’m not making this up. I’m reading it from my local fish wrapper right here beside the keyboard.

“We need to find a way of measuring success,” said Rep. Eliot Engel, a Democrat from New York. It was he and a Republican Rep. from Florida, Connie Mack, that commissioned the report. Man, I don’t know what you all are smoking but, it can’t be good for you. I’d suggest you seek some help.

Oh, and hey… the drug cartels own Mexico. I would suggest we don’t give them any more money. Well, not any more than they are currently making on the streets of the United States, anyway.

Seriously, don’t these people ever poke their heads out of their shells? This is ludicrous! This is a joke! It’s a farce…! I’m plumb dumbfounded.

Madness, indeed, and this article gives strong evidence that our House of Representatives is an asylum.

Author’s note: I was out back tending my horseshoe pits and I began to contemplate doing another post centered on the above mentioned news article. I was thinking about doing a 180 degree spin. You know? Like, praising the representatives for wanting on accounting of the money being spent on a futile war. Could their motive be providing evidence that those dollars are being tossed down the rat hole? I was thinking it would be, like, some sort of twisted experiment in keeping an open mind. Naw, screw that. This is a blog. Blogs are for tirades, right? Right. I’ll leave it alone. Mostly.

Drift (back to the pits)

Leave a Reply

