This Aint About Politics

This post, that is. It’s about one particular politician.

Oh I hear you mumbling, “But, Drift, this whole prohibition thing is a political issue.” I’m not meaning that kind of politics. That kind of politics that fuels the carryings-on I read in the local paper’s editorial section. You know, where one political party is blaming another for all of the issues currently plaguing the world? Liberals, conservatives, lefts, rights… Truthfully, I’m not interested in those types of goings-on. This isn’t related to any such diatribe.

This is about a Washington State Congressional Want’a Be sticking his foot in his mouth.

It appears that when one enters into a Senatorial race one of the tactics to unseat the incumbant is attacking said incumbent’s record. I suppose that’s fair enough. “They suck, see? Vote for me.” Wasteful  federal spending, and the incumbant’s role in bringing some of those dollars to the state of Washington, was this individual’s rant when he got a taste of his own shoe leather.

I believe I’ve mentioned several research studies that have been performed relating to the synergistic relationship between opiate pain relievers and phytocannabinoids. One such study is being done by Washington State University. The study received $150,000 in stimulus money. Now, mind you, I’m all for trimming the fat. The country’s broke and still spending like a drunken sailor… (as a former drunken sailor I can say that). I’ve no argument with the gentleman on that account. It’s what he said and the fact that he said it without doing his own research that chaps my ass.

This news release from last Thursday was headlined, “It’s 5:00 Somewhere, But It’s 4:20 At Washington State University.” 

“This is one of those boondoggle projects that forces you to set aside the serious economic consequences of this so-called stimulus for a moment and just laugh at how out of touch Washington, D.C. really is. Washington state taxpayers are tired of their money going up in smoke.  This bill isn’t going to stimulate anything other than sales of Cheetos.”

Whoa, dude!

I do agree that possibly the research money shouldn’t have come from stimulus dollars, though the work is providing employment for three individuals.  But come on, taking a cheap shot at a valid university study by way of bogus stereotyping is a bit unprofessional in my opinion – 4:20, up in smoke, Cheetos!?

This study doesn’t have students sitting around smoking fatties. Rats are being injected with a synthetic cannabinoid and opiates. I can’t say for a fact but, I would think it safe to say the researchers aren’t feeding them Cheetos. On a side note, the psychology professor running the study claims that chronic pain is an $80 billion drag on the economy. I wonder, if the research assisted in decreasing that load would that be thought of as stimulus money well spent? Maybe? I dunno.

Now let me reiterate, I’m not into politics. I’m not bashing one party nor another. I’m not endorsing one candidate over another. I’m not politicking here at all. All I’m saying is when a candidate for Congress makes statements like the one above it chaps my ass. That’s all.

Damn it. Now I’ve got a craving for Cheetos.

3 Comments

  1. GlennS said,

    August 16, 2010 at 8:10 am

    That chaps my shorts too, for the particular reason that I know FAR too many people (yourself included, IIRC) who are victims of one form of chronic pain or the other. I would *love* it if instead of firing up a doobie (and risking me losing my lunch if I’m downwind – I’m one of those weirdo chaps who reacts *adversely* to the smoke) they could just pop a caplet… I would *love* it if those people were more functional in the world.

    I hope said candidate-wannabe has a similarly violent reaction to his own shoeleather… and drops out of the race from excess nausea.

    Get some Cheetos, Drift. You deserve’em.

  2. Dan said,

    August 16, 2010 at 10:01 am

    If a politician says something, and no one is around to hear it, is the politician still an idiot? I say yes.

  3. capndrift said,

    August 17, 2010 at 7:02 am

    Is it true you can wash a keyboard in a dishwasher? This thing is an orange mess! Snork.

    From reading various news articles it appears the candidate really screwed the pooch with his cliche comments. The media are on him like ugly on an ape. (I couldn’t help being a bit cliche, myself. Heh.)

    I’ve stated elsewhere in this blog that I believe the future of medicinal cannabis is cannabinoid pharmacology. It’s going to take a whole lot of research to get it sorted out first though. As noted above, WSU is using a synthetic. Unfortunately, the majority of the work currently being performed in the U.S. is with a synthetic phytocannabinoid. Marinol is a legal drug, you see, while whole plant cannabis is still a schedule I.

    From other countries working with whole plant cannabis we are learning that the phytocannabinoids and terpenes, in various combinations, affect the endocannabinoid systems in varying ways. We all know that cannabis can give an individual the munchies (what a mess) but, did you know appetite can also be turned off as well?

    Here in the States we aren’t going to get much done working with nothing more than a synthetic. It’s a start though. With enough empirical evidence hopefully the government will be pressured to reconsider the scheduling of the plant.

    Though the first endogenous cannabinoid (Anandamide) was discovered by Mechoulam 18 years ago, leading to uncovering the cannabinoid receptors and that system, the illegality of the plant has put one hell of a damper on research.

    Don’t quote me on this, but, I seem to recall reading that the CB1 and CB2 receptors are the most prevelant in the human body. Hell, Anandamide is a big player in the first few months of pregnancy.

    It sure would be nice if our scientists were allowed to fiddle around with these systems. The medicinal benifits could very well be near boundless.

    Comments as made by the above politician are contrary to good science. I suppose history has shown us that politics and science have never been good bedfellows, but still…


Leave a Reply

