Stirring the Pot?

There was an article in the June 11th edition of The Columbian, the local paper. It was about your typical grow-house bust. No one lived there. Power was being stolen. There were 1,600 plants. Classically, when there are suspects apprehended with these things they are associated with Mexican or Asian pot peddling outfits. …nothing new there. I don’t recall reading about many (any other?) of those, here in Vancouver, but typical nonetheless.

What I found terribly odd was when the “Task Force Commander” started talking about dispensaries. You know, medicinal cannabis dispensaries?  The cat was quoted as saying the product from these grows was headed to the dispensaries!

He was quoted as having a conversation with the Clark County commissioners about zoning… wait for it… for DISPENSARIES!

And then, THEN! the county’s drug and alcohol program manager (what the hell is  he doing  in this article?) is quoted as saying that the senate bill Governor Gregoire line vetoed 36 sections of, and then signed April 29th at 3:00 p.m., is new information.

I’m flabbergasted.

How the hell did we go from a black-market pot grow to medicinal cannabis, dispensary zoning and — “new information” on a piece of legislation that’s been lying around for a month and a half?

You think I’m making this all up? Here’s the article. Read it for yourself.

The Columbian, June 11th

So, you guys know me. I couldn’t let the thing go. After giving it some consideration I figured the best option would be to offer to educate the two individuals mentioned in the article about the medicinal cannabis laws in the state of Washington.  After all, I do feel education is key here. The following is my letter to the Editor as it appeared in the paper.

Regarding the June 11 story, “Growing suspicions; Thanks to alert neighbors, police find prolific pot-growing operation in Vancouver house,” a black-market grow ruining a home is not a good thing. Theft of power is stealing. I’ve no arguments there. All bad stuff, no doubt.

You know what else is bad? How about when Task Force Commander Mike Cooke off-handedly slams medicinal cannabis as a charade and then makes statements that indicate he doesn’t know what the medicinal cannabis laws are in this state? That scares me more than a black-market pot grow.

I find Cooke’s comments wholly disingenuous and verging on malfeasance.

I would guess it would take Cooke about five minutes to have my phone number and address. So, Cooke — grab Cleve Thompson, the county’s drug and alcohol program manager, and drop in. I’d be more than happy to school you guys on RCW 69.51a and Senate Bill 5073. All I ask is you come by at a decent hour and knock.

Ironically, when I sent the LTTE (via email) I got a response back reminding me my address and phone number were required for submission. Heh.

Leave a Reply

