This is Nuts!

Walnuts, actually.

The Diamond company sells walnuts. Because of the health claims Diamond has listed on the packaging the FDA claims the nuts are drugs, and further, those people who eat walnuts for health reason are not qualified to prescribe themselves the medicine.

I shit you not.

Now, we’ve all heard of the FDA getting after outfits that make unsubstantiated claims about the healthful effects of their products. There’s no surprise there. The thing is, valid research has shown that omega-3 fatty acids are beneficial to the human body. The U.S. National Library of Medicine data base lists 35 research papers indicating walnuts improve vascular health!

I’m thinking that substantiates Diamond’s claim, eh? So, let’s say it does. The FDA says that means walnuts are drugs. Not only drugs, but a new drug! And, of course, new drugs must undergo the FDA approval process.

Diamond is a drug peddler. Diamond is subject to seizure just like any other black-market dope peddler. You think I’m just making all of this up, dontcha? Here, look for yourself. This is a link to the FDA:

They’re Nuts!

Yeah, I know the letter is dated Feb. 2010. I didn’t learn of this debacle til just the other day, though. I sure feel safe knowing the Food and Drug Administration is watching my back. Don’t you?

7 Comments

  1. Gator said,

    August 16, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Dude, you know where I can score some english walnuts? I hear they have quite a kick for gettin ya started in the mornin! SHHHHHhhhhhhh
    don’t tell everyone K.
    hehe

  2. capndrift said,

    August 16, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Man…
    I’ve always found an early nut helps to start the day!

    What?

    • Gator said,

      August 19, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      who writes this shiit anyway?
      I’m stockin up for the crash! need any nuts?
      whoooo hooo hhahahahahaahaaha hhheeheee
      whaaa hhoooooooo!
      (it’s the nuts, get it?)

  3. Sid Adams said,

    February 15, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Just finished reading your book, outstanding job !
    You came onboard just a few months after I got off of America and the stories were so like I remember it.
    Thanks for the read, I truely enjoyed it.
    Sid

  4. capndrift said,

    February 15, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Sid! Good to read ya!
    I must admit, I find it odd you would post a review of “Carrier” here… though I difinitely see where _This is Nuts!_ would be an appropriate location herein. Heh!

    Thanks for the kind, comments Sid!

    • Sid Adams said,

      February 15, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      CD,
      Sorry, got carried away in the blog and didn’t pay attention.
      I’ll find my way around soon.
      Sid

  5. capndrift said,

    February 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Oh Hell, Sid, you’re fine.
    It’s just, though I’ve got a hot link to the book ‘over there’ I never expected anyone to comment on it in this blog.

    I believe the publisher (Litsam) intends to set something up where I can have discourse with folks, otherwise I’d consider something here — I guess.

    Look around, man! I’ve got a few good rants (are rants good?) and I -know- some good info in the Medicinal Cannabis topic.

    Don’t apologize… no need.


Leave a Reply

