The Scoreboard

Rain. The rains have begun. God’s Country they call this — ‘Cuz that was the same God that suggested some old dude build a boat so’s not to drown?

Who am I kidding? I’ve lived here for twenty-some-odd-years. I’m beginning to grow webbing between my phalanges. I suppose I’m just in a bit of a foul mood today… and feel like bitching.

In that vein, I offer you numbers from the 2010 FBI Uniform Crime Report.
Total arrests: 13,120,947
Drug arrests: 1,638,846
Cannabis arrests: 853,839
Of the total cannabis arrests we can differentiate between “trafficking” and possession. Trafficking includes everything from peddling a bag to cultivation.
Trafficking: 103,247
Possession: 750,591
Yeah, I see the math is off. Blame the FBI. I didn’t do it. Here’s another number, total violent crime arrests: 552,077

So, let me get this straight in my head; 853,839 (or thereabouts) people were popped for cannabis and 552,077 were cuffed for violent crimes. You know, violent crimes like assault and rape and murder, that sort of stuff?

Okay, if that doesn’t give you pause, here’s this; The solved murder rate in the ’60s was about 90%. Today it’s around 65%.

Now you, too, can be in a pissy mood.
You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

