Schedule II for Cannabis?

You’re ‘prolly hip To Governors Gregoire (Washington) and Chafee (Rhode Island) pulling together a petition to have cannabis’ drug scheduling changed — Said petition sent to Michele Leonhart of the DEA.?

Though I did catch a few mistakes, I believe it’s a rather solid argument, nicely done. Would you care to read it? Here, take a look:

Schedule II

So what’a ya think? You know damn well I’m gonna offer my opinion.

I’m struggling. See, getting cannabis out of schedule I has to be done before any further progress on legalization can be made. Removing it from schedule I would open up a lot more cannabinoid research. It would mean a Hell of a lot more’n an inch in the mile. More like several hundred feet.

And what else?

Schedule II is the most restrictive classification of a legal substance.

The Governor appears to like a pharmaceutical compounding by licensed pharmacists model with medical cannabis.

What of the plants many cannabinoiders have developed for their particular malady? The years of plant breeding? Development by an individual, for their own treatment?.

Or is my concern for naught? A rescheduling would have no effect on the current state law?

Man, the conflict is driving me nuts.
Maybe, I’ll soon be able to pickup a prescribed compound at my local pharmacy for that? That is, you know, should my garden have a crash?

2 Comments

  1. Gator said,

    December 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Mistakes? I’m not so hip on this legal speak so to speak so could you point them out to me? I got a copy of the rag and I just don’t know how to compare it!
    😉

  2. capndrift said,

    December 12, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Nabilone and Dronabinol are -not- THC.

    Though not scheduled, THC does metabolize into another psychoactive molecule (11-hydroxy).

    CB-1 receptors are in the major organs, too, not just the brain.

    Cannabinoids vaporize at more like 350+ F, not 250 F. At
    250 the cannabinoids go through a decarboxylation
    process; that is, THCA and CBDA lose the “A” (COOH) and
    become reactive at the human receptors.

    At the beginning she speaks of DNA analysis to identify
    a plant’s components. I was confused by that. You and I
    can both grow the same strain of plant and end up with
    differing phytocannabinoids. Toward the end she gets
    into gas chromatography/mass spectrometry, so I won’t
    bitch, too much.


Leave a Reply

