Educating Physicians

And stuff like that.

The synergistic relationship between opiates and cannabis, for pain relief, has been anecdotally noted by physicians since the 1840’s. ‘Course, with the creation of the DEA in 1973, the same federal agency that controls a physician’s ability to prescribe drugs, most/many doctors will not begin to entertain a discussion of cannabis in a patient’s treatment.

There have been several animal studies that appear to give evidence to the relationship. Most of the abstracts you’ll read finish with, “More study is warranted,” due to the nature of scientific research. I’m not sure how many of those it takes for someone to stop, and proclaim, “It works. Period. Now, if you would care for a few more research dollars, find out why.”

It really does “work.” The docs back then knew it. Hell, at one time on-the-shelf cannabis concoctions were as common as Carter’s Little Liver Pills (I’m dating myself).

Doc Abrams down at UCSF did a small study. From scientific standards, it hasn’t much depth. There were only 21 participants. Said participants being prescribed, and taking, opiate pain relievers.  The doc introduced vaporized cannabis. Over the five-day trial a substantial drop in pain was noted, without an increase in opiates. ‘Les see, 2011 minus 1840 equals 171.

So current studies are telling us what we knew 171 years ago!

Uh.

While I was at my annual exam the other day, I suggested the doc look at my frequency of Vicodin refills. Said, she’d notice they’ve dropped by 30% in the last few months. Said, my instances of nocturnal disturbances had dropped by 50%. Said, the abdominal nerve pain, though still there, doesn’t normally present with the same intensity.

Said, I’d started concocting these little pills a few months ago. I take one every night before sleep.

She took notes.

3 Comments

  1. Gator said,

    December 24, 2011 at 1:15 am

    I still have them in a drawer somewhere handy but haven’t used them since we got back from New York in Oct.
    just the weed and white willow bark tea for the most part. an advil now and then but alotta weed.
    I still feel it but I can tolerate it. I’d like to ingest more of it rather than smoke it tho.

  2. Gator said,

    December 24, 2011 at 1:16 am

    oh I was talkin bout the Vics

  3. capndrift said,

    December 24, 2011 at 8:18 am

    I’m also experimenting with a topical I’ve put together. It’s a spray type liniment. It seems to relieve the burning sensation I get at the neck and shoulders but doesn’t address much of the pain.

    It might stain fabric (bummer). I’m not sure yet.

    I’m going to introduce hot peppers into the next batch (capsaicin) and see how that works for the pain aspect.


Leave a Reply

