Some Peoples’ Kids, Sheesh

So, I was cruising through the local paper the other morning when I came to the opinion page. Granted, it is the opinion page, but when folks spew ignorant statements in a public forum and attempt to cover it with sarcastic humor… well, it chaps my ass. Here’s the Letter to the Editor that rubbed me the wrong way.

WTH?

Yes, of course I submitted a response:

“According to the Dec. 22 story in The Columbian, “State considers adding ADD, OCD to medical pot list,” the state of Washington is considering legalizing the use of marijuana for anyone who has a medical problem of any kind. For instance, Attention Deficit Disorder or Obsessive Compulsive Disorder would qualify. Other unrelated diseases, such as a “social disorder” and “intractable pain,” also would make the grade.”

This previous paragraph is, almost, wholly false. “Intractable pain” is an acceptable condition, now. “Social disorder” was previously declined. The state of Washington is NOT considering legalizing the use of cannabis for anyone who has a medical problem of any kind.

Sir, I found your letter wholly disingenuous. Further, I can’t help, but wonder your point? The last reference to cannabis being an “ addictive gateway drug,” could give us a hint? Yes, yes it does. –That- hypothesis was debunked some time ago.

Sir, may I recommend you point your favorite search engine to PubMed. Once there, enter THC, CBD and a malady of your choice. Heck, try ADD and OCD!

Please sir, educate yourself.

What the writer of the original letter must not be aware of is, the People of the State of Washington are considering legalizing cannabis… for recreational use.  Heh.

5 Comments

  1. Gator said,

    January 12, 2012 at 10:06 am

    he’s just some red neck hunter type that thinks Budweiser should be the drug of choice of the American male! never had a toke in his life and still thinks that Reefer Madness is a documentary classic for bringing up Jr.

  2. capndrift said,

    January 13, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    And therein lies the problem, eh?

    Redneck is fine.

    I prefer Budweiser, as an alchoholic beverage, myself.

    Whether he’s ever consumed cannabis in any fashion is irrelevant.

    That Reefer Madness/documentary… now that could well be an issue. That’s where education comes into play, “No man, the earth really is round. Here, I’ll show ya…”

  3. nailingit said,

    February 16, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Considering the dead humor to include signing as Elwood Bonner (I think he misspelled boner) this letter is just one more attempt to diminish the seriousness of this issue. Medical reasons have opened the door. Let’s blow the F-ing (can we cuss or is big bro looking in) door off it’s hinges.

  4. capndrift said,

    February 17, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Once again I’ll contend that education is the key. There is absolutely no doubt of cannabis’ medicinal efficacy. Science bears that out. Frankly, I’m excited about the current research. Now, if the DEA would remove cannabis from schedule I…

    BTW, it appears it’s only the plant itself that bares that classification. The United States Department of Health holds a patent related to CBD (cannabidiol). GW Pharm. is in phase III trials with its sublingual spray, Sativex®.

    From a recreational standpoint, you are aware that the beverage industry poured (heh) a shitload of money into the effort to defeat California’s legalization effort? Man, I’d much rather party with a bunch of folks whom were high on cannabis rather than liquor (and yes, I’m a beer drinker).

    I’ve never been forced into the position of asking a person to leave my property when they were stoned and behaving badly. Unfortunately, there’s been more than one occasion I’ve done so with a drunkard.

    And yes, Nail. You can write “fuck” if you so choose.

  5. nailingit said,

    February 17, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Fucking A! 🙂 I couldn’t agree more with your beer/pot take. I’d rather have ten chemdogs driving my way on a two lane road than one beercat. If anything, pot cautions a person when driving. Mind you I’m not condoning driving while buzzed on either drug. But if I had to have my druthers…

    Drift it’s good to be a part of the conversation on this subject. People that use Cannabis for whatever reason have been discriminated/incarcerated/harassed for too long. Discriminated against in the workplace, vilified by a conservative society, and have been the financial door mat law enforcement tramples on to justify outrageous expenditures, propping up a militaristic civil force that daily puts it’s boot heel to the throats of the American people. i.e. the Occupy movement as well as countless ongoing abuses to citizenry.

    Man…I feel better! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

