O’Shaughnessy’s

The Journal of Cannabis in Clinical Practice

Are you guys hip to this? I wasn’t ’til just the other day when a friend of mine dropped off a copy of the Autumn 2011 edition. There’s some good stuff in there, man. If you are an individual administering cannabis medicinally I’d highly recommend you get your hands on one.

CBD and “minor” cannabinoids are a big topic in the issue (which I’m not done with yet, by the way). The SCC (Society of Cannabis Clinicians) has begun what they call “Project CBD.” It’s a survey, of sorts, to be answered by folks who use cannabis medicinally and know the average CBD content of the strain they’re utilizing.

I’m beginning to understand how difficult it is to do science with a substance containing (at least) 66 active molecules (compounds?). And it doesn’t stop there.

Terpenes (or terpenoids) are suspected to be a player, too. O’Shaughnessy’s gets into this whole “entourage effect” thing. That is, a single cannabinoid can be administered and an effect observed. This effect can be positive or negative (see Rimonabant). Add another cannabinoid in the mix and results could very well differ. The cannabinoids are like a crew, man. One can bang away on this or that, but without shoring, support, procurement… This is why (in my opinion) phytocannabinoids are such a bitch for big pharma. At least GW pharmaceuticals had enough sense to use two cannabinoids, eh?

O’Shaugnessy’s is real world, too. I mean, the group understands that people are medicating with whole plant cannabis; smoking it, vaporizing, eating it… They don’t shy away from that “stigma”.

Somehow I got the impression if I used young flowers for my capsules I’d have a higher CBD content. Nope. It doesn’t work that way. I haven’t the equipment (nor the money) to do the testing, but I might be harvesting CBG (cannabigerol) rich material. I’m okay with that. CBG acts as a GABA reuptake inhibitor. That works as a muscle relaxant, spasm relief, an analgesic and stuff.

Side effects can result in lethargy, confusion, cognitive and memory impairment… I’ve experienced that. That’s why I take the caps every third night and I’m still experimenting with the formulation. I do wish I had the equipment to test both me and the material I’m using sigh.

Oh! And did you know that CBD isn’t really active at the CB receptors? What it does is suppress FAAH (Fatty Acid Amide Hydroxylase). FAAH is the enzyme that breaks down anandamide.

I love this shit, man.

Transient Receptor Potential cation channel subfamily V (TRPV).  Grab a copy of “O’s” and you’ll know why you might have some interest in TRPV’s.

Love this shit…

O’Shaughn’s

2 Comments

  1. Gator said,

    April 19, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Remember the Dicnavab? Big Red Book in most shops (Chiefs desk)
    That’s what I think of when I read shit like this…. I’m a layman at best… Smokin weed makes me feel good, Nuff Said! oh yeah I know we gotta have a dog in this fight on all fronts but man if the dog’s barkin at squirrels or rabbits, or if it’s barking at the moon, I have no way of knowing cuz I just don’t understand dog.
    So what are you saying about this TRVP FAAH copy of “O’s” thingie again?
    😉

  2. capndrift said,

    April 20, 2012 at 11:32 am

    Dogs don’t bark at the moon. A dog barking at a squirrel is saying, “I’m pissed ’cause I can’t get to your ass.” See, I know that because I did some research. Hey, did you read about the baboon that was taught to recognize 308 written four-letter words? No? Really, man. I read it in yesterday’s paper. The science section. Yes, I know there’s a joke about monkeys doing Shakespeare here somewhere.

    This is the “science” category, man — “Medicinal Cannabis.”

    How can I talk medicine without using 50-cent Latin words?

    Wanna know why you feel good when you smoke a little cannabis? Start here- http://people.eku.edu/ritchisong/301notes2.htm
    -and then take what you learn crossing that over to both phytocannabinoids and the eCB stystem.

    Or, just go smoke a joint. Whatever…

    Love ya, Brudda-Man!


Leave a Reply

