Cuz I’m Bored, Today

And, it’s been a while since my last post.

I read something a few days ago about CBD (cannabidiol) being scheduled as I (one) by the DEA. I found that curious. CBD doesn’t meet schedule I criteria – those three being; 1) Having a high potential for abuse. 2) no medicinal applications and 3) Even under a physician’s supervision the drug is unsafe.

So, I thought, Bullshit… there’s that Department of Health patent and CBD won’t get a fly high. So, I started looking. This popped up:

CBD

That’s a MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheet) for cannabidiol. No, I’m not shitting you. Right at the get-go it informs us cannabidiol is a DEA schedule I regulated compound. Well I’ll be go-to-hell…an MSDS?

For those of you that aren’t hip to MSDSs: MSDSs are a result of OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) law. A disclosure (to employees) must be made about any toxic chemical on site.  The MSDS will contain information about hazards, the physical results of over exposure, and stuff and stuff. Check out the above link, you’ll “get it”.

You should be scratching your head about now, Whaaa…?

You might take the time to notice that MSDS was put out by an outfit calling itself  Cayman Chemical Company. You can buy cannabidiol?

Apparently.

And (if you, too, are bored), you can check out their website and find a host of schedule I compounds for sale. Here, take a look:

Cayman

See the note? Warning: This product is not for human or veterinary use. Do you see further down? Cannabidiol (solution) A neuroprotective phenolic compound from marijuana.

Don’t you simply hate it when you set out to learn a little something, and wind up with more questions than when you started? Okay, fine. CBD is a schedule I “drug”. Why? And – how can this company also offer schedule I synthetic compounds for sale? Do you see HU-210, JWH-200…? These are synthetics that escaped various research universities and could be found in “Spice,” “K-2” and that crap. You know, that crap people were buying in the head shops and smoking because it wasn’t both illegal AND it didn’t show in a U.A.? They’ve been outlawed. They are schedule I. Just like CBD.

I’m tempted to try placing an order. Not that I’ve any interest in the synthetics, I wouldn’t mind having me some CBD solution though. Just as a conversation piece, mind you. I doubt I’ve the credentials to make a succesful purchase though. I’m thinking my cannabis recommendation wouldn’t pass the muster.

Huh. Find the answer to one question raising half a dozen more…
Cool, eh?

4 Comments

  1. Dan said,

    May 14, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Water has an MSDS. MSDS, soon to be called simply the Safety Data Sheet, or SDS, is a requirement for _employers_ to have on hand for any _chemical_ the employer has on site. It’s an interesting requirement, as employees often bring their own chemicals in for one thing or another, but fail to notify their employer.

  2. Sid Adams said,

    May 14, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    When the MSDS was put into action, I was working at Chrysler Assembly, Newark, DE. You would not believe what we were working with and around for years and years and didn’t have a clue. Now that I’m retired and most of the people I worked with are retired also, everyday I pick up the paper and in the obits is a former autoworker dying at young ages. Just saying…

  3. capndrift said,

    May 15, 2012 at 8:21 am

    I was the Safety Director (waste manager, too) for several years at a small industrial company. I’m rather familiar with the required hazard communication/right to know programs.

    In my post I was trying to point out several things (in my usual roundabout fashion). For one, though CBD does not meet schedule I criteria the DEA has still seen fit to classify it as such.

    In the supplier’s list of goodies you’ll see CBD, but not THC. Yes the various synthetics mimic THC, but they aint THC. Why it is I find that interesting… I’m not sure.

    Most (if not all) of the compounds on that page are schedule I. I’m mildly curious about what credentials it takes to not only manufacture schedule I drugs, but offer them for sale.

    If you pop over to the medicinal category you’ll find a link to a study done at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine. This study was related to CBD inducing apoptosis in T cells through mediation of the eCB2 system. The research was performed both in vitro and in vivo. The reagents used in the study were purchsed from various outfits.

    “In vivo” were mice. Could that be construed as veterinary use? ‘Prolly, not, huh? Yeah, that might be a reach. I know the university plans to begin studies with humans. Is administering CBD to a human illegal? Schedule I, remember.

    And that really is the question, I guess. How can CBD be schedule I? On the vender’s site it states CBD is neuroprotective. A myriad of studies have shown CBD’s medicinal utility. And let’s not forget patent # 6630507 (held by the U.S. Dept. of Health). CBD is not psychoactive.

    It won’t get you high. You won’t get strung out on it. It does have medicinal use.

    So then, I’m only left to assume the DEA has the authority to schedule any damn thing they want, willy-nilly.

    And that just don’t sound right to me, man.
    Tuff titty, eh?
    No …not right, man.

  4. Gator said,

    May 18, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    It appears that we have found ourselves in an age where what once was in apearance, a just world, has now become one of confusion of justis and a mix match of verbalization meant only to confuse further the preception of what is “right” and what is “just not right”. Cramping further the benifit are those clouded minds who have closed themselves off to the truth and trust in our government tottaly for their own safety being so comfortable in their cubby holes and cubicals. Truly sad, that we live in an age where common sence had passed away.

    “No Animals were harmed in the posting of this reply”


Leave a Reply

