An Interesting Tact…

…taken by proponents of Washington State’s I-502 – and very well-played in my opinion.

In today’s newspaper there’s an article on a recent “study” released by New Approach Washington. The data gives us the number of people who’ve been arrested in the last 25 years and the amount of money spent on cannabis enforcement the last 10; 240,000 and 211 million (respectively).

Now, I know a quarter of a century is a pretty good span of time, but damn… that’s a lot of people! Curiosity had me checking the population of Vancouver, Washington; 164,759 (the 4th largest city in the state). So then, figuratively speaking, every single person I see today (plus) would have been arrested for cannabis at one time.

Forget trying to put the money into some sort of perspective. Not having even two nickels to rub together how the Hell can I get my head around 211 mil?

Oh, before I forget, here’s the link to the story if you’d care to have a gander:
240,000, 211 mil

Having that printed was a pretty slick move on the part of those endorsing I-502. Any sensible person can see things hafta change! Oh! And NAW has T.V. commercials, too! Here, check it out:
NAW

I know many within the medicinal cannabis community are fighting this thing tooth and nail. The DUII provision (per se 5ng/ml) is one Hell of a sticking point. Many claim should 502 pass and the feds gut it the only provision left will be the DUII. At this time impairment must be shown. The 5ng/ml is defenseless. The limit is “per se.”

I sure as shit hope they’re wrong. I’ve a gut feeling Initiative 502 will pass. If it does, I suppose we’ll learn soon enough if it was a good thing… or bad.

7 Comments

  1. Gator said,

    October 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

    It does make a good argument for passage tho… I wish somehow we could take all this evidence toward the legitimate use of Cannabis to the feds so as to put that schedule 1 thing to bed! I mean we do have a medical precedence for the positive use so it belies the reasoning behind the placement on the list in bold face (or in your face) type! There is a positive use and it has been PROVEN not to kill! DOH!

  2. capndrift said,

    October 13, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Come Monday, maybe. The article in this link calls Monday the “16th.” My calendar reads it’s the 15th. However it goes, it should prove interesting.

    http://blog.norml.org/2012/10/10/appeals-court-to-review-deas-dismissal-of-cannabis-rescheduling-petition/

  3. David Maupin said,

    October 14, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Initiative 502 also provides for the growing of industrial hemp, but no farmer is going to risk growing it and having being persecuted under federal law. Farming corn and potatoes is risky enough! Who is going to grow this approved marijuana? With the taxes levied on production, who is going to be able to afford to buy this legally produced, regulated, and taxed cannabis? Pass the law and tweak it later to make it work? Lol, what happened to making the reformed Medical Marijuana workable? Just another example of legislative ineptitude, the joke on US is that bad laws do pass as witnessed in the last legislative secession amending the Medical Marijuana statutes. Shame on OUR legislators for their at best sloppy and half hearted work!

    • capndrift said,

      October 15, 2012 at 7:20 am

      502 is fraught with problems, David, no doubt. Undergoing an F.B.I background check in order to be “licensed” to grow? Uh, I don’t think so.

      Let’s say a retail store does open. The pricing can’t be higher than the current (black) market. That’s simple economics. So, with the taxing scheme what does that mean ($$$) to the cultivator?

      And if 502 does pass and then is federally preempted will we still be stuck with the per se DUI provision?

      In the above post, David, you appear to jump from I-502 to E2SSB 5073. The state legislative bill that got 36 sections hacked out before it passed into law. That there, my friend, be another whole kettle of fish.

  4. David Maupin said,

    October 16, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    ” David, you appear to jump from I-502 to E2SSB 5073. The state legislative bill that got 36 sections hacked out before it passed into law. That there, my friend, be another whole kettle of fish.”
    Truthfully I haven’t looked closely at either bill. I became so disillusioned with our law makers in the past couple of sessions that I don’t even bother looking to see what the ruling class intend to feed us..;)

  5. David Maupin said,

    October 18, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    I did see that action against Vancouver’s arbitrary ban on patient collective gardening was noticed by the Columbian Newspaper and plans may be in the works to allow it in certain industrial areas. State Law provides for collective gardening by 10 patients with a total of 45 plants shared between them. 10 Medical Marijuana patients sharing growing space for 45 plants in various growth stages is hardly an industry nor was it ever meant to be. No need for any special zoning or expensive industrial space needed… Hope they realize that as part of the legal action! Link: http://www.columbian.com/news/2012/oct/18/city-ids-possible-areas-for-pot-collectives/

    • capndrift said,

      October 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

      Geez, should I start a topic on the Vancouver Collective Garden thing? Naw (heh), I’m too lazy. I’ll address your comments here.

      I’m a personal aquaintance of the indiviudual filing that suit, David. I have it on good account what he is attempting to do with his suit is both protect “patients” and assauge The City’s concerns with retail sales – scantily clad women on roller skates rolling down the boardwalk holding signs advertizing free nugs and…. oops. Sorry. Heh.

      No, David, it shouldn’t be an industry. Not here. Not now. A collective garden should be nothing more than “patients” supporting one another.

      But you and I both know there are entrepeneurs out there who would take advantage of any crack in the law (usually referred to as gray) to line their pockets.

      One must add a pinch of pragmatisms to their idealism otherwise what comes out of the oven is nothing more than fantasy, eh?

      The guy I’m a personal aquaintance with tells me he’s aware of the way of it. He assures me he’s working the “patient” side of the issue, not the business.

      He tells me it can be complicated.

      I dunno…

      Last I saw him I wished him the best.


Leave a Reply

