Letters, Letters and More Letters.

This one would be one of those Letter to the Editor letters.

A few things before I copy, paste and go all italics on you. At the time of the writing I might have been confused about what bill was the biggest threat to the patient community. There were several, 2149, 6178 and 5887. As things progressed it was the 5887 headed to the Governor’s desk. But then the House killed it over a money squabble. Or so it would appear on the surface.

I’ll talk about that more over in the Prohibition category; in the next few days, I’ve chicken that’s been marinating for two days I intend to toss on the grill here in a few minutes.

So, anyway, here’s the letter that never meant shit because it was the wrong bill and everything died anyway (Washington State, mind you).

I’m writing in an attempt to bring a travesty in the making to the general public. That would be Engrossed Substitute House Bill 2149. I would ask citizens to contact their legislators and ask this proposal be tabled.

The legislators will tell you 2149 is an effort to abide by the memorandum released by the U.S. Attorney General’s office relating to both medicinal and recreational cannabis in participating states. In my opinion, that’s a half-truth. The whole truth is the Legislature is attempting to monopolize cannabis in an effort to maximize market share: taxes.

The prevailing angle seems to be, with the passing of I-502 the medicinal cannabis laws can be made so onerous, making it near impossible for an individual to receive a medicinal recommendation or support them self with one, because anyone over 21 years of age will be able to purchase cannabis from a licensed retailer.

Whether it’s ignorance or greed driving this bill, the end result will be the same: people will suffer and folks in obscurity, who’ve been providing for their own medicinal needs for years under the law, will become criminals. I know this to be true, as a military veteran and ‘patient.’

3 Comments

  1. Mark Hutcherson said,

    April 1, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Mr. Drift,
    Probably the wrong venue to leave a note but I just finished your book. I originally bought it because I served on “The Big Dawg” 1969-70. I LOVED THIS BOOK! Just wanted to tell you that. I had a blast on my cruise (west-pac) but you sir topped mine! Take care and just do another book Captn!

    • capndrift said,

      April 1, 2014 at 3:45 pm

      It probably -is- the wrong venue, Mr. Hutcherson, but that’s okay. I’m not much of a stickler with ‘rules.’ ☺

      ‘Sides, I’m not about to pass up a chance to
      pimp “Carrier.” ‘Specially beings my beer fund is running a bit on the low end.

      Thank you so much for the kind words, sir. I’m truly happy you enjoyed my little story. In the comments section of Amazon I see where it sort of pissed off a couple of fussy ol’ Chiefs. Little do they realize their statements simply tell me I’ve still ‘got it.’ Heh!

      You didn’t mention your rate. I’m curious.

      Also, if you wouldn’t mind helping me out (that beer fund, mind you) I’ll ask you consider making a comment wherever you found the book (Amazon, B&N, Litsam…).

      Thanks again. Free beer is one thing, but praise on the prose is altogether on a different level of recompense.

  2. James Barber Sr. said,

    May 31, 2014 at 4:39 pm

    I wonder how they say our medical cannabis laws are “untenable”, when in fact they are solid as the rock of Gibraltar.. lawful use.

    Some maroon whom was hired by the state for recreational use, made the comment that “qualifying patients collective gardens”
    are in competition with these “retail” stores collecting taxes for the state.. how is my use at home .. read .085(2) and labor necessary for proper construction, plumbing, wiring, and ventilation of a garden of cannabis plants at a patients residential property, has any competition with the recreational market…

    Half truth you say Cap’n .. I say there is zero truth behind what this maroon hired by the state said which cost the tax payer over 1 million dollars, for hugely bad advice… torturing patients for tax dollars is a crime.. but, that’s my opinion I guess living the torture of no access to medical treatment prescribed by my physician.. sigh

    James Barber Sr.


Leave a Reply

